Better Offer?

The things I do – whilst waiting for a better offer!

“Sleep Deprivation And Musical Memories”

Leave a comment


I’m not a great one for getting much sleep.  I regularly spend the night sitting downstairs while She Who Must Be Obeyed sleeps the night away unaware of the vacant space next to her.  Having just completed the annual 24 hour musical,  I really expected to crash out and sleep for hours.

This was not to be!  I had to get up early on Sunday morning to get to church as I was leading worship.  I did set the alarm just in case a miracle happened, but as expected, I was awake before the alarm went off.  And as the day went on, I was beginning to really tire, so much so, that I thought Sunday night would be the night where I caught up with my sleep.

Again, this was not to be.  And it was also not the case on Monday night.  So I guess the sleep I missed out on, on Friday night, is lost forever!  I have found that although I am not sleeping, I am incredibly tired this time round following the 24 hour musical.  More so than in any of the previous years.

Maybe it is due to the fact that Blood Brothers is such an emotional charged musical.

However, my spirits were lifted today when I listened to ‘Elaine Paige On Sunday’ whilst I worked.  But it is Tuesday I hear you scream!  Yes, but thanks to the BBC iPlayer, I have six days to catch up with that programme.

The ‘Elaine Paige On Sunday’ programme is specifically for people like me who love musicals.  She normally plays a great selection of music, from stage musicals to screen musicals, and film scores to television themes.

And this week was no exception.  Except, this week she seemed to play more musicals with which I have in some way been involved.  But the biggest surprise for me was to hear a song from a musical I have never before heard on the radio.  A musical I had great fun doing (twice!) back in the 1990s – and yes, Good Friend And On Stage Mistress was also involved.  As was a young girl who wasn’t quite 10 at the time, who gave a great performance last Saturday night as Mrs Johnstone in Blood Brothers.

The song?  Jubilation T Cornpone.  The musical?  L’il Abner.  A musical based on an American comic strip.

Ah, what memories!

There were some great lines; some great put downs.  Like the one Mammy Yokum said to Earthquake McGoon (the character I played):

Mammy Yokum: Is you inferring you has money?

Earthquake McGoon: Lady, I is filthy with it.

Mammy Yokum: Mister, you is filthy without it!

And this one:

Gen. Bullmoose: [talking about Appassionata von Climax] She works for me. She gets a salary, and she sort of lives in my house.

Li’l Abner: [to Appassionata von Climax] Really? Does that mean you gets bed and board, ma’m?

Appassionata Von Climax: Extremely!

That was enough to put the smile back on my face.  Tired? Me?

Who needs sleep!

Author: Better Offer

I am approaching my saga years (rapidly)! Correction, I have now reached my saga years! I am a thespian who has appeared in commercials and films and on TV, and love my time on stage but am extremely frustrated that I get most my work as an amateur. When not on stage I can be found walking the countryside, leading worship at my local church or running IT training courses and fixing PCs – just waiting for that better offer!

I'd love to hear your views...

