Better Offer?

The things I do – whilst waiting for a better offer!

“Jonas Brothers UK Bore, Sorry, Tour!”

Leave a comment


Yes, it’s that time again.  The time when Small Persons 1 And 2 Of 2 are going on daily about the forthcoming tour of their beloved boy band from America – The Jonas Brothers.  No, scratch that, not daily, but hourly!

The incessant talk about these three boys will not stop until after the concert.  And even then it won’t stop!

Small Persons 1 And 2 Of 2 returned home from their father’s on Sunday night after having spent the weekend with him, only to assault my ears with excited and often high pitch joviality about the tour.

“When is the tour?” I enquired, desperately trying to show a little interest.  “We don’t know, the dates haven’t been announced yet.  The tickets go on sale on Tuesday”.  “Oh, I see”.

Small Person 1 Of 2 had already talked to one her friends, and they had decided to go together.  As had Small Person 2 Of 2.  The only difference was that the latter had realised she couldn’t go without an adult.  Oh dear, I thought, I know what’s coming next!

But no, she had asked her friend to ask her mother to go with them.  What a relief!  😉

And with that Small Persons 1 And 2 Of 2 went to their respective rooms and readied themselves for bed.

Monday morning came, and with it the first day of the new school term.  So Small Persons 1 And 2 Of 2 were woken.  “Good morning, did you sleep well?”  I asked.  “Not really, I couldn’t stop thinking about the JB tour – tickets go on sale tomorrow”.  Oh no, it’s started.  We can’t even have a moment when JB isn’t dropped into the conversation.

I sometimes get a bit confused, because when they talk about JB, they sometimes mean Justin Bieber, and of course I’m thinking about Formula 1 and Jenson Button!

Then came the big question – “Will you buy the tickets for us online?”  We don’t know the dates yet; we don’t know the venue; we don’t even know whether the friends or the friend’s mother are available for what ever date I buy the tickets for!

But to Small Persons 1 And 2 Of 2 that is not a problem – they just want the tickets.  And with that, off they went to school.

Eight hours later they returned home, and I, stupidly, expected to hear how the first day back went.  Yes, you’ve guessed it.  The only topic of conversation was the JB subject.  How their friends are all trying to get tickets; how they are not sure the friend’s parents are looking forward to it; and did I want to take them!

And so the conversation continued.  All over dinner and into the evening.  What a blessing when bedtime came.

Tuesday morning didn’t start any better.  It was, after all, the day tickets went on sale – as if I needed reminding!  Small Person 2 Of 2 went to her friend’s house before 8am to see whether her mother had decided to go with them and them came back to give me the news that she had said yes.  Another relief!

Before Small Persons 1 And 2 Of 2 went off to school I was reminded several times to book the tickets the moment they went on sale.  Remember, at this point we still don’t know dates or venue.

Like the obedient step-father that I am, I went on line several times throughout the day to find out more information.  I even received a text from Small Person 1Of 2 mid morning to check how it was going!

Well unfortunately the dates have yet to be announced.  Small Persons 1 And 2 Of 2 were devastated on their return home from school to learn that I hadn’t been able to book their tickets.  Small Person 2 Of 2 decided she was going to check or as she put it “I think I’ll do some research on line to find the dates”.  Needless to say, she couldn’t uncover any information about the tour  dates or venue either!

So, there we are, no nearer a date and therefore, an end to this on going bore!

Author: Better Offer

I am approaching my saga years (rapidly)! Correction, I have now reached my saga years! I am a thespian who has appeared in commercials and films and on TV, and love my time on stage but am extremely frustrated that I get most my work as an amateur. When not on stage I can be found walking the countryside, leading worship at my local church or running IT training courses and fixing PCs – just waiting for that better offer!

I'd love to hear your views...

