Better Offer?

The things I do – whilst waiting for a better offer!

“Tomorrow Never Comes”

Leave a comment


I’ll bet it’s happened to you.  You’ve missed a delivery; it may even have been something you weren’t expecting, so you didn’t know you should have stayed in and waited for it.  Never the less, a delivery firm has attempted to deliver something to you and you were not there to sign for it.

So what do they do?

It would appear, when it’s for me, they take it away again.  They leave a little card through the letterbox telling me they tried to deliver and that they will try again tomorrow.

Well, the old saying ‘tomorrow never comes’ really seems to be true in my case.  I have sat in all day waiting for the return of the parcel service only to be left forlornly gazing out of the window at every van which has gone past.

I have seen every delivery firm imaginable pass by my house today, except the one that I want.

And of course, they won’t say when they might return.  It could be first thing in the morning so that you can have the rest of the day to yourself or it could be at the end of the day so that you were able to get on with your earlier day.  Why not even come the same time they tried the previous day?  At least that way, you would know roughly when to be at home.  But no, it has to be whenever they can get to you.  It’s subject to any other deliveries they have to make in the area.

The ironic thing is, that yesterday, having missed the delivery I wasn’t expecting by 30 minutes, there was a knock at the door.  As I went to open it, I could see through the window in the door that it was a delivery man.  Oh good I thought, he has come back before finishing his round for the day.  How nice of him.

What a disappointment I had on opening the door to find it was a delivery man from another company.

What an even greater disappointment I had when he asked me if I would take a delivery in for someone who lived a couple of houses down the street and weren’t in for him to deliver to.

Now, why couldn’t my delivery man have done that with my parcel?  Why couldn’t he have gone across the street and tried a couple of houses to see if they would sign?

How much longer do I have to sit in and wait?  Will it be tomorrow?  Will I have to wait until after the weekend?

In the mean time, I’m left with my neighbours parcel because they have yet to come and collect it, and a desire to know what is in the package I have yet to receive.  Supposing it’s not for me after all the wait!

What a disappointment that would be!  😦

Author: Better Offer

I am approaching my saga years (rapidly)! Correction, I have now reached my saga years! I am a thespian who has appeared in commercials and films and on TV, and love my time on stage but am extremely frustrated that I get most my work as an amateur. When not on stage I can be found walking the countryside, leading worship at my local church or running IT training courses and fixing PCs – just waiting for that better offer!

I'd love to hear your views...

