Better Offer?

The things I do – whilst waiting for a better offer!

“A Mule Is …”

1 Comment


Saturday saw an outing to purchase new school shoes for Small Person 1 Of 2.  Somehow, she has managed to turn a normal pair of shoes into a pair of mules.  And for those amongst us who thought shoes were shoes, a mule is, simply put, a backless shoe with a closed toe.

So, now you know!

The only trouble with starting that explanation was that I immediately thought of the song ‘Swinging On A Star’:

A mule is an animal with long funny ears

He kicks up at anything he hears

His back is brawny but his brain is weak

He’s just plain stupid with a stubborn streak

And by the way if you hate to go to school

You may grow up to be a mule

Does that mean Small Person 1 Of 2 has been riding a mule to school so she doesn’t grow up like one?

Back to the Saturday shoe shopping.  As I had a meeting to attend in the Chichester area, I drove She Who Must Be Obeyed and Small Person 1 Of 2 over to the city centre to start the hunt for the shoes.  My meeting was to take at least two hours, and with the drive to and from the city centre, that would give them two and a half hours ‘man’ free shopping.  Plenty of time, wasn’t it?

No!

No, I caught up with them three hours later and they had only seen one pair which was vaguely suitable!  Did this mean that I would have to trawl round the shops with them to find some shoes?

Well, not straight away, because they both wanted some lunch.  Just a sandwich; nothing more.  Oh and a drink.  This presented a slight problem, because we don’t know the eateries of Chichester that well and therefore had to switch our search from shoes to a little café.  Somewhere to sit and relax for a few minutes.

We eventually found a café which seemed popular and decided to sit in the sunshine to enjoy lunch.  We hadn’t realised that judging by the price we paid for a plain cheese sandwich, we must have been purchasing not only the food, but the table as well.  For what we had to pay for one sandwich, we could have bought a whole loaf of bread, half a pound of butter, a pound of cheese and fed 10 people!

Thank goodness we didn’t ask for it to be toasted!

Actually, there was an extra charge for that as well.

Never mind, fed and watered we continued our search for shoes.  However, our search for shoes was cut short when She Who Must Be Obeyed realised that the one shop they had purchased something in before I joined them had overcharged them.  Not once, but twice!

The sales assistant had managed to not only charge for something at the wrong price but had also charged for one item twice.  Once we had the refund sorted, we had run out of time for further shopping.  Shame!  😉

She Who Must Be Obeyed said we would have to go to another town on Sunday.  😦

So Sunday came, and following church, we set off to Brighton.  En route, I needed to call by our good friends The Bobs to drop something off for young Nutty Bob.  And as we were heading to their house, I tuned the car radio to Elaine Paige On Sunday to listen to the show tunes.

As I couldn’t park outside The Bobs, I asked She Who Must Be Obeyed to quickly drop the package off while I double parked and kept the engine running.  That was never going to happen!  Quickly I mean!  Not once She Who Must Be Obeyed and Nursey got together.  While I was waiting in the car, one of the songs played was from a film I had never seen.  Not until last year when The Bobs lent me their DVD that is.

It is a film they all love and although I had heard of one of the songs, I had never actually heard of the film.  So how strange it should be played on the radio while I was sitting outside the house of the people who introduced it to me.

The film was Summer Magic and the song was The Ugly Bug Ball.

So on to Brighton for what could have turned out to be an epic afternoon’s shoe hunt.  The only saving grace was that shops have to close by 4pm on a Sunday, and it was already after 1pm, so I knew it wasn’t going to be that long.  I just hoped we could find some shoes quickly otherwise the search would drag into another weekend.

Fortunately, three shops into the search, the perfect pair was found.  Hurriedly, I took the shoes to the cashier to purchase them before we changed our minds.  I say we, but obviously my mind was made up!

And with shoes in the bag, we returned home just in time for me to start cooking the evening meal.

And no, it wasn’t a round of cheese sandwiches!

Author: Better Offer

I am approaching my saga years (rapidly)! Correction, I have now reached my saga years! I am a thespian who has appeared in commercials and films and on TV, and love my time on stage but am extremely frustrated that I get most my work as an amateur. When not on stage I can be found walking the countryside, leading worship at my local church or running IT training courses and fixing PCs – just waiting for that better offer!

One thought on ““A Mule Is …”

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention “A Mule Is …” « Better Offer? -- Topsy.com

I'd love to hear your views...

