Better Offer?

The things I do – whilst waiting for a better offer!

“The Start Of Something Special!”

Leave a comment


Friday night, She Who Must Be Obeyed and I decided to join our good friends The Bobs at a local drinking establishment.  We were joined by Mr Plenty and his lovely wife Bud.  The evening started off on a fairly sensible level.  Well as sensible as it ever gets with Nursey and Nutty in the same conversation!

We started by trying to explain the rules of Pub Golf to Bud, who had never heard of the game.  If like Bud, you too do not know the game, take a look here.  A game like Pub Golf can deteriorate into an excuse to get absolutely hammered – not that we played it that way, we were far too sensible!  😉

This moved the conversation onto coping with a hangover and the fact that Nutty had spent the early hours of one Saturday morning at the local A & E (Accident & Emergency or ER for my cousins in the US!).

I should point out very quickly, that she was not in there as a patient herself, but to pick someone up who had been drinking too much.  Her friend though could not be released until the nursing staff had re-hydrated them.  This involved a saline drip.

If I didn’t make that point quickly, I would definitely feel the wrath of my diminutive friend!  And as I’ve said before, you don’t argue with her.  Actually, you can’t, she always manages to have the last word – she could talk the hind legs off a donkey!  And don’t get involved in a text conversation with her, because again she would have the last text – just ask her father, Chef.

Back to the saline drip; this got us thinking.  Maybe we could set up a franchise of some sort which attached a saline drip to all those out on pub crawls.

We could set up outside and have Nursey insert the drip.  Then the drinkers could go about their evening, knowing they are being re-hydrated as they go.  Brilliant!  That will keep several people out of hospital after the pubs close!

Having put that to bed, we somehow got onto the topic of breast feeding.

I have no idea why or how.  And by this point, we were still only on our first drink, so it’s not as if we had had too much to drink ourselves, but talk about we did.  It could have had something to do with the NHS and advertising slogans:

Mother’s milk the start of something special!

Now, whilst I was trying to find that link, I came across a site I wish I’d known about when we were talking last Friday, so that I could have added to the conversation.  What caught my eye was this slogan:

I like milk from my mum not from just any old cow

You can have that on a badge or t-shirt!

Back to the pub on Friday night – Mr Plenty started pulling faces.  Probably because he really is a closet actor, and he thinks that’s how we actors act!  Needless to say, the conversation went downhill a bit from here.  But I think I’ll leave the pub for now, and pick it up in a second blog later.

I need to get to the bar – it’s my round!

Author: Better Offer

I am approaching my saga years (rapidly)! Correction, I have now reached my saga years! I am a thespian who has appeared in commercials and films and on TV, and love my time on stage but am extremely frustrated that I get most my work as an amateur. When not on stage I can be found walking the countryside, leading worship at my local church or running IT training courses and fixing PCs – just waiting for that better offer!

I'd love to hear your views...

