Better Offer?

The things I do – whilst waiting for a better offer!

“Ignoring A Sat Nav”

2 Comments


I’m fairly new to the whole Sat Nav experience.  I’ve borrowed one in the past from FIL (Father-In-Law), but only really got to use it once a year for the annual holiday abroad.  And even then, I never really did anything with it except plot the destination and hope for the best.

However, recently I have purchased my very own Sat Nav.  I tried it out at home on short journeys.  Journeys I already knew well, just to make sure it took me where I was anticipating going.  And for the most part it did, although once or twice it tried to take me a different way.  I refused to follow the directions to ensure the Sat Nav was able to recalculate the journey on the fly.

It even has a setting to allow its user to use it when walking.  So I tried that as well!  Of course the issue with that is that the Sat Nav doesn’t know about alleys which cut along the sides of buildings and avoid going the long way round on the roads.  And it doesn’t know about public footpaths going through fields or parks.

So having satisfied myself that this new piece of equipment would find the latest holiday destination, I plotted the campsite, checked it with Google and set off.  We also decided to give it a name, to personalise it, as it was always talking to us.  And because we have it set to a female voice, we called it SALLYSALLY SATNAV.  We didn’t really, but it just makes it easier to refer to her with a name in this blog!

All was going well for the first sixty miles.  Although for the first one hundred and twenty miles I didn’t really need SALLY, as I knew my way to Dover Ferry Terminal.  I had been that way for the previous four summers.  However, sixty miles into the journey SALLY tried to take us off the motorway and cut through smaller roads.  Now, this may well have been a quicker and possibly shorter route, but I was towing a very heavily laden trailer.  It was dark and I was on a set timescale to reach the ferry terminal to catch the ferry we were booked on.  I didn’t want to risk going down side streets and turning up late because they slowed me down.

SALLY was very patient and merely suggested I turned round at the next exit and take the route she was suggesting.  And with this, she added two minutes to the estimated time of arrival, presumably because that’s how long it would take me to turn around.

The next exit came and went, and I ignored it and carried straight on.  Once SALLY had realised I had not taken the slip road, she started to recalculate.  There was another exit coming up, and she suggested I took it and followed another road.  This time she added a further five minutes to the journey.

Once again, the exit came and went, once again I ignored it and once again SALLY recalculated with a similar suggestion of the next exit and a new road.  And, somewhat predictably, she added a further five minutes to the journey.

And just as predictably, at the next exit I continued on my journey totally ignoring SALLY.  It was at this point I felt she was getting fed up!  She duly recalculated and finally selected the route I had every intention of taking but as if to punish me, added a further twenty minutes to my journey!

I decided SALLY was not a woman to be messed with.

Author: Better Offer

I am approaching my saga years (rapidly)! Correction, I have now reached my saga years! I am a thespian who has appeared in commercials and films and on TV, and love my time on stage but am extremely frustrated that I get most my work as an amateur. When not on stage I can be found walking the countryside, leading worship at my local church or running IT training courses and fixing PCs – just waiting for that better offer!

2 thoughts on ““Ignoring A Sat Nav”

  1. Good stuff ( as usual ) Richard

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention “Ignoring A Sat Nav” « Better Offer? -- Topsy.com

I'd love to hear your views...

