Better Offer?

The things I do – whilst waiting for a better offer!

“Motorised Mobility Mayhem!”

2 Comments


Have you ever noticed just how many motorised mobility scooters there are on our streets?

I know these things are vital for some of the less mobile members of our community to get out and about, but I’m beginning to think it is high time the powers that be introduced a driving test for them.

I have just come back from a stroll into town where I lost count of the number of these things I encountered.

It’s not that people need them that I have an issue with.  Neither is it that there are so many of them, but more because some of the users of them have absolutely no sense of other ‘pavement’ users.

It seems very odd that these motorised carts which can reach speeds of 10 mph should be allowed to travel at such speeds on narrow pavements.  I realise 10 mph isn’t that fast in the grand scheme of things, but when you have pedestrians with walking aides ‘crawling’ along or mothers with push chairs or young children walking by their side (or most likely running ahead of them) trying to use the same piece of pavement, it doesn’t take a genius to see what is going to happen.

Which of the above is going to have to step off the pavement and into the potentially busy road to allow the other to pass?

It won’t be the electric buggy, because that wouldn’t be able to bump down the kerb and then back up it once it has cleared the obstruction.  Not only that, but it is not agile enough to dodge the oncoming traffic in the road!

During my little stroll today I had to dodge out of the way of no less than 5 of these motorised monsters.

Mobility Scooter

The New Monster Truck - Fast (Relatively) And Heavy

Two of those were on narrow pavements where the ‘driver’ clearly decided not to take their foot off the gas and I was forced to step into the road for fear of being flattened or pinned to the wall by this menace!

The other 3 were all on a very wide stretch of pedestrian walkway.  And on each occasion, the maniacs behind the handlebars of these mechanised contraptions made no attempt to steer to one side.  They each kept on their original course as if the front wheels had been locked into position and were unable to make the slightest deviation.

And it wasn’t only me who had to dive for safety, rolling into shop door ways to avoid having my shins broken in two following the impact.  Just about every other person enjoying a morning sunshine stroll was targeted.

And as if that wasn’t enough, I called into a store to make a purchase.  On my way to the checkout, I came face to face with one of these miniature monster trucks.  Being the gentleman that I am, and being a bit wary of these things, I allowed it to go ahead of me where I could keep an eye on it.

Whilst standing there in the queue, minding my own business, I suddenly found I was in pain.  The woman operating the buggy had decided to reverse – straight on to my right foot and into my right shin.  These buggies weigh 100kg (about 15st)!

What made it worse was the fact that she didn’t even realise.  She didn’t even look behind her.  She just reversed the buggy so that she could straighten up at the checkout.

It was only when I politely, with tears rolling down my cheeks, tapped her on the shoulder and asked her to move forward that she had any idea of what she had done.  There was no remorse or concern about the fact that she had parked on my foot.

No, she just paid for her goods and pulled away.

Any more encounters like that and I will be needing one of those rides – think I would pimp it though!  😉

Author: Better Offer

I am approaching my saga years (rapidly)! Correction, I have now reached my saga years! I am a thespian who has appeared in commercials and films and on TV, and love my time on stage but am extremely frustrated that I get most my work as an amateur. When not on stage I can be found walking the countryside, leading worship at my local church or running IT training courses and fixing PCs – just waiting for that better offer!

2 thoughts on ““Motorised Mobility Mayhem!”

  1. that should read DISABLED!!!

  2. Thought you’d emigrated, I agree with your sentiments re the buggies though, I was nearly mown down by a “diabled” driver, steering with one hand whilst slurping from a can of beer. Drunk in charge of a buggie eh?

I'd love to hear your views...

