Better Offer?

The things I do – whilst waiting for a better offer!

“Diet? Mum’s The Word!”

Leave a comment


She Who Must Be Obeyed and I took a stroll into town today not just to visit the shops but to also make the most of the unusually hot and dry weather with which we have been blessed recently.  And whilst compiling this post, I have just heard on the radio that the national record for this day in October has been beaten!

Why do we Brits love weather records and why do we all like to talk about nothing but the weather?

Apparently, if you are in any way interested, the highest temperature for October 1st was achieved at 14.42BST in Gravesend, Kent when the thermometer hit 29.9C or as we Brits would rather say when it is warm – 85.8F!  However, the reports didn’t just stop at the new high, oh no, they had to state that it has been warmer here than in Athens, Barcelona or Los Angeles (where of course it would have only been just after 6.30 am!).

So, beat that Athens, Barcelona and Los Angeles.  Oh, that’s right, you do most days!

Meanwhile, back to my trip to the shops with She Who Must Be Obeyed.  As we approached a greetings card store, She Who Must Be Obeyed remembered she needed to get her mother a birthday card.  There were many to choose from, ranging in sizes and styles.  Some were eliminated early on because they were to Mother and that is not something she likes being called.  So that narrowed the field considerably to just those with Mum (obviously Mummy had been ruled out before we’d even entered the premises!).

At times like this, I tend to just stand back and let the selection be made by She Who Must Be Obeyed, after all, it was for her mother, and she does know what her mother likes better than I do.  However, She Who Must Be Obeyed was struggling to make the choice, so I offered a couple of cards up as potential candidates.  The first was kept as a possibility whilst the second was dismissed out of hand.  Obviously I challenged this dismissal, if for no other reason than to understand where I had missed the mark.

The response left me momentarily speechless but with a huge grin on my face.  Once again, She Who Must Be Obeyed’s Irish ancestry came to the fore.

The card was not too gushy or flowery in prose.  It was addressed to Mum and the picture on the front was just of a cake stand full of cup cakes.  What could be wrong with that?  The response was that it was inappropriate as her mother was on a diet!

With a touch of cheekiness in my voice (and maybe just a little sarcasm) I pointed at one with flowers and suggested that would be inappropriate if she suffered from hay fever!

However, my other card was eventually chosen – so it just proves I can find appropriate cards.  As we left the shop, She Who Must Be Obeyed turned to me and warned me that if her diet comment appears on my blog (which she now reads) she won’t speak to me for a whole week.

Looks like I’m going to get some peace this week!  😉

Author: Better Offer

I am approaching my saga years (rapidly)! Correction, I have now reached my saga years! I am a thespian who has appeared in commercials and films and on TV, and love my time on stage but am extremely frustrated that I get most my work as an amateur. When not on stage I can be found walking the countryside, leading worship at my local church or running IT training courses and fixing PCs – just waiting for that better offer!

I'd love to hear your views...

