Better Offer?

The things I do – whilst waiting for a better offer!

The Grate British Queue!

Leave a comment


This week, so far, seems to have been made up of some incredibly busy days. And we are only on day 3! Part of my schedule today included a trip to a food store to purchase some ingredients for Small Person 2 Of 2 for her cookery lesson at school and a visit to the town’s main Post Office. The former was made doubly difficult because Small Person 2 Of 2 had no idea what she was going to cook, so I had to devise a recipe for her and buy the appropriate ingredients.

The latter, in this town at least, is always a trial!

Having whizzed round the supermarket in record time, I approached the checkouts. There was only one open! Despite being in a hurry, this didn’t worry me too much as there were only two people in front of me, one man with three items and one woman with about twenty. The woman, however, had a very large push chair with two small children and several more items tucked in between them!

Not only that, but she hadn’t finished her shopping and hastily set off to fetch another couple of items whilst the checkout assistant started to scan her items. And as she did so, one of the two small children started to scream its little head off.

When the mother returned, her natural instinct was to comfort the child, which she did by hoisting it out of the push chair and giving it a cuddle. Meanwhile, the checkout assistant had scanned so many items that there was no longer any room to pass the rest of the shopping through. The mother, turning down any assistance, started to pack her shopping one handed into the push chair whilst cradling the small child.

Behind me the queue now extended to ten people!

And, as so often happens, just as the mother finally paid and cleared the checkout and the assistant started to scan my few items, another checkout was opened. 😦

So, on to the Post Office. A place where queues often extend out of the building. Fortunately, and unusually, when I reached the queue, there were only twelve people ahead of me. Unfortunately, one of those was another mother with a push chair and small children. This mother was on her mobile phone making a call which required her credit card. I feared this was going to be another lengthy queue while the mother continued her call and tried to complete her transaction at the counter. There were ten people between her and me, and as she reached the front of the queue, rather than hold everyone up, she let the next person through. RESULT!

Nine people now between me and the clerk. Then through went another as the mother continued her call.

Then another.

Suddenly, only seven people ahead of me when the next person was called. Then another stroke of luck, as the first five people were together and went through as one to the clerk. Oddly, only one stopped, the other four just walked straight out of the Post Office!

Why did they bother to queue up if they had no intention of going to the clerk? Are they serial queuers? Is this some new game people play?

I know we British have a bit of a reputation for queuing, but that seems a bit odd. The Post Office queue is one from which I never get any enjoyment, and today’s queue cost a little under ten pounds just to send my passport to the renewals office. And that’s on top of the already exorbitant renewal fee!  😦

Oh well, at least I didn’t have to wait too long to part with my cash.

Author: Better Offer

I am approaching my saga years (rapidly)! Correction, I have now reached my saga years! I am a thespian who has appeared in commercials and films and on TV, and love my time on stage but am extremely frustrated that I get most my work as an amateur. When not on stage I can be found walking the countryside, leading worship at my local church or running IT training courses and fixing PCs – just waiting for that better offer!

I'd love to hear your views...

