Better Offer?

The things I do – whilst waiting for a better offer!

Handled With Care!

Leave a comment


My last post began:

“Before I begin (too late, I’ve already started!) I must just say I cannot believe where the last three months between my last post and this new post have gone! Can it really be as far back as the last week of June since I last put fingers to keyboard? I could try to offer some excuses such as summer holidays, the Olympics or loads of lines to learn for my next play, but they would all be weak and feeble and you probably wouldn’t believe me!

So, leaving any pathetic excuses behind, what’s on my mind now?”

And that was two months ago! Have I tired of this blogging malarkey?

No, not at all, but this time I really do have a good excuse. I won’t go into a great deal of detail now, as there is a court case pending, but three days after my last post, Mother Offer was knocked down by a bus. The rest of my family and I have spent the last two months by her bedside! However, now, thank the Lord, she is making a great recovery, which means I have more time to sit back in front of my keyboard.

This also means I have more time to get out and about and find things to rant about. And with it being only a few weeks until Christmas, what better place to rant about than my local Post Office! I have already mentioned in an earlier post (The Grate British Queue) my ‘love’ of this establishment, however, what I failed to mention was just how much my ‘love’ increases at this very festive of seasons.

PostOffice When sending Christmas cards overseas, one has no choice but to take them to the Post Office to have them weighed to calculate the appropriate postal charges. I had a mere two cards to send.

I arrived at the Post Office a little after 10am – I thought that would mean I would be after the early morning rush and before the lunch time crush. WRONG! There was the inevitable queue out the door, but there were at least five counters open.

Surely this wouldn’t take long, would it?

Oh yes!

Counter one had a gentleman renewing his passport and for some reason, he was there when I arrived, and still there when I left (what seemed like days later!). So that effectively meant we only had four counters operating on the queue.

Mary Poppins and her bag

Mary Poppins and her bag

Counter two had a young man sending parcels. He had what can only be described as a Mary Poppins bag – it never seemed to empty – every time the cashier completed one parcel, the man reached in and withdrew another. Like counter one, he was there when I arrived, and still there when I left. So we were down to only three counters operating on the queue.

Counters three, four and five were serving, however, as I reached the halfway point in the queue (bear in mind I was never truly at the back of the queue, as it was constantly growing), counter four closed – presumably so the cashier could go and have her elevenses!

Counter five then turned its attention to people who somehow had appointments to be served. I had no idea that was possible in a Post Office. So we were now down to one counter.

Needless to say the queue did not disperse quickly. I eventually reached the front of the queue and was duly served with a standard “thank you for waiting” comment from the cashier. After having picked myself up off the floor when I was told how much it was going to cost to send two cards air mail (more than the two cards actually cost to purchase), I quickly crossed out the Merry Christmas on the front of them and wrote Happy Easter just to be on the safe side!

Note to self – join the queue in August to guarantee the cards arrive in time for Christmas.

Author: Better Offer

I am approaching my saga years (rapidly)! Correction, I have now reached my saga years! I am a thespian who has appeared in commercials and films and on TV, and love my time on stage but am extremely frustrated that I get most my work as an amateur. When not on stage I can be found walking the countryside, leading worship at my local church or running IT training courses and fixing PCs – just waiting for that better offer!

I'd love to hear your views...

