Better Offer?

The things I do – whilst waiting for a better offer!

The Life Of Pi

Leave a comment


Now, don’t get excited, I’m not reviewing the recent film “The Life Of Pi”, but I do have the book queued up on my Kindle to read on holiday! However, today, at least for those people who read or write the date with the month coming before the day (MM/DD/YY), is National Pi Day – 3/14. Of course that doesn’t really work here in the UK, as we would typically write it as 14/3 but with a nod to my cousins from across the pond, happy Pi day.

Happy Pi Day!

Happy Pi Day!

And for those of you who have forgotten your mathematics lessons, Pi is that very irrational number 3.14159265359 (and so on … forever!). It is, of course, the name given to the ratio of the circumference of a circle to the diameter. That means, for any circle, you can divide the circumference (the distance around the circle) by the diameter and always get exactly the same number. Are you still reading?

Good! I won’t mention the technical bit anymore.

Some bright spark has, allegedly, calculated Pi to one trillion places. If you are struggling with how big that number is, written in numbers it looks like this – 1,000,000,000,000. Now, if you have nothing to do for the rest of your life, you could try reading the number saying each digit separately 3.14159265359 etc. at a speed of one digit per second, and you would still be counting in over 31,000 years!

Alternatively, you could try to calculate the next number after the first one trillion, but I think you might need to be Einstein to do that. And talking of Einstein, it just so happens to be his birthday today as well.

What were the chances of that?

E=MC2?

Well, here is the birthday boy trying to work it out!

Happy Birthday Einstein

Happy Birthday Einstein

Before I start counting, I think I’d better make dinner for She Who Must Be Obeyed and the two Small Persons – but what to make?

What's for dinner?

What’s for dinner?

Mmmmm!

Author: Better Offer

I am approaching my saga years (rapidly)! Correction, I have now reached my saga years! I am a thespian who has appeared in commercials and films and on TV, and love my time on stage but am extremely frustrated that I get most my work as an amateur. When not on stage I can be found walking the countryside, leading worship at my local church or running IT training courses and fixing PCs – just waiting for that better offer!

I'd love to hear your views...

